Yet another housing minister due to be appointed – the eighth in eight years


Yet another housing minister will have to be appointed after Dominic Raab was made Brexit Secretary this morning following David Davis’s resignation.

Raab had been in the post for what has become the customary few months. His tenure lasted seven months.

His departure from the role means that his successor will be the eighth housing minister in eight years.

Commenting, Emoov CEO Russell Quirk said: “Housing has become the poor relation in British politics, a ministerial post that should have a well oiled revolving door attached to the position.

“We are in the midst of a housing crisis – a deficit of 100,000 new homes each year and acute unaffordability whereby first-time buyers will soon celebrate their 40th birthday before being able to buy a home.

“We need consistency in government where the housing brief is concerned. And it must be a proper cabinet position, not a junior role relegated to the corridors of Whitehall.

“How are we as an industry or indeed the civil service to take the Government seriously when they say that housing is a priority when, in fact, they play ‘Fantasy Housing Minister League’ like this with scant regard for the consequences?”

The seven housing ministers – so far – since the Tories came to power ten years ago have been: Grant Shapps, Mark Prisk, Kris Hopkins, Brandon Lewis, Gavin Barwell, Alok Sharma, and Dominic Raab.

In reverse order, this was how long each one lasted:

Jan 2018 – July 2018 Dominic Raab
June 2017 – Jan 2018 Alok Sharma
July 2016 – June 2017 Gavin Barwell
July 2014 – July 2016 Brandon Lewis
Oct 2013 – July 2014 Kris Hopkins
Sept 2012 – Oct 2013 Mark Prisk
May 2010 – Sept 2012 Grant Shapps

Since 1997 – 21 years ago – there have been 17 housing ministers all told, a remarkable churn.

We will update this story as soon as we have the name of Raab’s successor.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here